Jeff Little & Wayne Henderson play the WRCPA Theatre Sept. 14

Enjoy a night of terrific music when two extraordinary musicians collaborate for a concert at Northeast State Community College on Sept. 14.

Award winning musicians Jeff Little and Wayne Henderson will perform at the College’s Regional Center for the Performing Arts on the Blountville campus next to Tri-Cities Regional Airport. Doors open at 6:30 p.m. The concert begins at 7:00 p.m. Tickets can be purchased online now at

Northeast State hosts the concert as part of the College’s Because of You weeklong scholarship fundraising event. The concert and other events raise money to benefit students with scholarships and other programs.

Jeff Little’s approach to the piano is based on the deep musical traditions of the Blue Ridge Mountains. With few exceptions, the piano does not play a prominent part in Appalachian or Americana music, and is rarely the lead instrument. But Little is an exception – and a remarkable one. His distinctive two-handed style, much influenced by the mountain flat-picked guitar tradition, is breathtaking in its speed, precision, and clarity.

Jeff Little (Courtesy of Pat Jarrett/Virginia Folklife Program).

Little’s performances include The Smithsonian Institution, The National Folk Festival, American Piano Masters, Merlefest and many festivals, performing arts centers, and colleges throughout the U.S. He has also taken his traditional piano style around the world performing in countries such as France, Bahrain, Sri Lanka and Tanzania.  He has released four CDs, and been featured on National Public Radio and PBS many times.

Wayne Henderson is the Appalachian guitarist that Nashville pickers all talk about. A National Heritage Award recipient, Henderson is regarded as a brilliant musician and instrument maker. His reputation as a top-notch finger-picking guitarist is well-known throughout the region and country.

Wayne Henderson

Sometimes Wayne’s playing is mistaken for flatpicking, but he actually uses a thumb-pick and fingerpicks to achieve amazing speed and fluidity, transforming fiddle and banjo pieces, and even the occasional jazz standard, into stunning guitar solos. In addition to his reputation as a guitarist, Henderson is a luthier of great renown.

Blues guitarist John Cephas said that Wayne Henderson “is probably the most masterful guitar maker in this whole United States.” Wayne has dazzled audiences at Carnegie Hall, on three national tours of “Masters of the Steel-String Guitar”, and in seven nations of Europe, Asia and Africa.

Please join us this evening for a night of music that benefits our student community. For more information visit

Learn how to put your major to work

So you’re planning to graduate with your college degree. How can you leverage your new skill sets(s) into a long-term career with growth potential and earning potential?

The Northeast State Office of Career Development Services wants to help maximize your potential with the “What Can You Do with Your Major” workshop happening Wednesday, Aug. 16 at 2:00 p.m. in Blazier Wilson Hall (RCAT), 222 W. Main St., Kingsport.

Career Services wants to help you put your degree to work.

The workshop attendees meet in Room 113 where Career Services representatives will help you discover how your major can develop in terms of career growth.

For more information, call us at 423.354.5167 e-mail or use our contact form.

Shaped-Note Singing Convention Concert July 27 at WRCPA

Shaped-note singing is an American tradition of hymn-singing that endures today in churches and annual singing schools and conventions. Music lovers of all stripes can enjoy this unique style when Northeast State hosts the Shaped-Note Singing Convention Concert on July 27 at 7:00 p.m. The show is free and open to the public.

The shaped-note singing style began in New England in the 18th century and made its way to the Southern states where it enjoyed popularity through the mid-19th century. Basically, shaped-notes allow for a simplified way to read music. Based on squares, ovals, diamonds, and triangles – the distinctive shapes of the notes instantly tell what pitch to sing. The style gained a great following in colonial times when many singers were musically untrained.

The Shaped-Note Singing Convention Concert happens July 27 at 7:00 p.m.

This concert is part of the College’s “Hot Nights, Cool Music” summer concert series continuing through July. The show takes place in the Wellmont Regional Center for the Performing Arts Theatre at the Blountville campus next to Tri-Cities Regional Airport.

Doors open at 6:30 p.m. For more information, contact or 423.279.7669.

NE at Johnson City hosts TN Reconnect Fair July 20

Northeast State’s Office of Enrollment Services is on the road again hosting a Tennessee Reconnect Information Fair on July 20 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the College’s Johnson City campus, 101 E. Market Street.

Northeast State hosts this free-to-attend event the public seeking information about Tennessee Reconnect as well as Tennessee Promise and how to enroll this fall.

Attendees can meet with staff and learn more about the College and Tennessee Reconnect. For more information about this event, contact Northeast State Enrollment Services at 423.323.0229 or

Wanted for fall: Keeping Our Promise peer mentors!

Support your fellow Northeast State students. Become a Keeping Our Promise peer mentor this year!

Northeast State students are eligible to become Promise peer mentors provided they have grade point averages of 3.0 or higher and have been enrolled at Northeast State for at least two semesters. Mentor applicants must be enrolled for the 2017-18 academic year as well.

Be a hero. Be a Keeping Our Promise peer mentor.

Apply to be a Keeping Our Promise Mentor at this link:

Peer mentors receive a stipend of $250 per semester.  Mentors must commit to mentoring five students for at least one academic year.  A successful mentor will:

  • Support students during their academic and social adjustment to college
  • Know how to refer students to appropriate campus resources when needed
  • Work with individual instructors and departments to develop smaller communities to involve and engage students in their college experience.

Peer mentors are required to attend training sessions. During the first 10 weeks of the fall semester, mentors will be required to make contact with their students at least five times. Those 10 weeks are critical to helping new students adjust to college life. Mentors can arrange meeting times with assigned mentees based on their schedules.

Peer mentors provide a great service to their fellow students.

Peer mentoring provides wonderful opportunities to contribute to your college and community and thereby build your academic resume.