Northeast State celebrates the year’s best at Honors Convocation

Northeast State recognized the year’s distinguished students, staff, and faculty members at the annual Honors Convocation held Thursday night at the MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport.

Outstanding Student Award winner for 2016, Victoria Hewlett.

The college’s Outstanding Student Award was presented to Victoria Hewlett, of Elizabethton. A member of the College’s Alpha Iota Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), Hewlett is an Honors student and member of the President’s All-Academic Team with a perfect 4.0 grade point average. A double major in Sociology and Speech Communication, she is the Tennessee regional vice president-east for Phi Theta Kappa. She was named a New Century Scholar for Tennessee by PTK earlier this spring. She is also an officer in Northeast State’s Student Government organization, the Council for Leadership, Advocacy, and Student Success (CLASS). Hewlett has competed with the Northeast State Debate Team and is a member the Toastmaster’s Club. She plans on attending St. John’s College in New Mexico next fall.

The Northeast State Program Area Awards recognized outstanding students in the College’s academic departments for 2015-16. Program award winners are:

Advanced Technologies

Chemical Process Operations – Hannah Casey; Electrical Technology – William Allen; Electromechanical Technology – Christopher Vermejan; General Technology – James Weaver; Industrial Operations – Daniel Jeter; Industrial Technology/Automotive Service – Aaron Terry; Industrial Technology/Machine Tool – John Yeazel; Industrial Technology/Manufacturing Engineering Technology – Joshua Head; Industrial Technology/Engineering Design Technology – Isaac Wentz; Industrial Technology/Automotive Body-Collision Repair – Jordan Ortega; Industrial Technology/Welding/Metal Fabrication – James Taylor.

 Behavioral & Social Science Division

Criminal Justice and Criminology – Kyla Faust; Early Childhood Education – Alicia Holley; Mass Communications – Abigail Hathorn; Psychology – William Feijoo; Public Safety and Justice Administration – Phillip Baumgardner; Social Work – Shawna Burrow; Sociology & Anthropology – Victoria Hewlett; Speech Communication – Chelsi Crockett; Teacher Education – Casey Osborne; Teacher Education Pre-K-3 – Mary Klug.

 Business Technologies

Business-Accounting – Antje Campbell; Business-Management – Jimmy Murphy; Small Business Management – Mary Chess; Computer & Information Science/Computer Programming – Heather Wilson;  Computer & Information Science/Information Information Assurance – Michael Bowers; Computer & Information Science/Internet & Web Development – Martin Mozingo; Computer & Information Science/Network Engineering Technology – John Deakins; Computer & Information Science/PC Management – Shawn Stuart; Computer Science – Annie King; Information Systems – Dakota Alford; Office Administrative Technology/General – Jennifer Baird; Office Administrative Technology/Medical – Shannon Lane.

 Health-Related Professions Division

Allied Health/Dental Assistant – Sarah Bradley; Allied Health/Medical Laboratory Technology – Eileen Madden; Allied Health/Surgical Technology – Dale Stafford; Cardiovascular Technology/Invasive – Landis Johnson; Cardiovascular Technology/Non-Invasive – Bridget France.

 Humanities Division

English – Kilian Thomas; History – Moriah Jones; Honors Program – Victoria Hewlett; Humanities – Gabriel Hobbs; Philosophy/Religious Studies – Rena Baker; Spanish – Tayla Sluss; Visual Art and Design – Whitney Culbertson.

Mathematics Division

Accounting – Sarah Black; Business Administration – Jeffrey Robinson; Engineering – Jacob Ellis; Mathematics – Nicholas Hodge.

Nursing Division – Charity Conklin.

 Sciences Division

Biology – Cassandra Ross; Chemistry – Carolyne Thomas; Dental Hygiene – Taylor Slaughter; Nursing/Articulated – Matthew Boyd; Occupational Therapy – Hannah Fink; Physics – William Byington.

Student members of the President's All-Academic Team graduating with 4.0 grade point averages.
Student members of the President’s All-Academic Team graduating with 4.0 grade point averages.

Northeast State President Dr. Janice Gilliam presented the Distinguished Staff Awards to Northeast State faculty and staff who were nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding service to students and the College.

Other award honorees included Alicia Blasini who won the Adult Learner of the Year Award and Rayma Gibbs who received the Outstanding Student Organization Advisor Award.

Jane Honeycutt recognizes the Honors Programs students for 2015-16.
Jane Honeycutt recognizes the Honors Programs students for 2015-16.

Dottie Corey with the Human Resources Department won the Distinguished Support Staff Award. Dean of Enrollment Management, Jennifer Starling, received the Distinguished Administrative/Professional Staff award. English professor Tempi Hale was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Member Award.

Donald Coleman, ’87, received the College’s Outstanding Alumni Award for 2016. Coleman earned his EMT-Paramedic certification from Northeast State in 1987. He went on to earn his bachelor’s and master’s degree from East Tennessee State University. During 20 years of service as a SWAT Team paramedic and reserve police officer, Coleman participated in more than 100 SWAT missions and complied more than 4,260 volunteer hours. Today, Coleman serves as assistant vice president of Academic Affairs and associate professor of Emergency Medical Technology at Northeast State.

The College’s spring graduation ceremony will be held at 7:00 p.m. on May 10 at the East Tennessee State University/Mountain States Health Alliance Memorial Center in Johnson City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s