Alpha Iota Chi welcomes new members, earns national award

Northeast State welcomed more than 50 new members to its Alpha Iota Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society for the 2015 spring semester.

The new members were welcomed into Alpha Iota Chi during an induction ceremony held April 12 at the Blountville campus. The ceremony was led by Jane Honeycutt, the chapter’s faculty advisor and coordinator of the Northeast State Honors Program.

The newest members of Alpha Iota Chi are: Travis Akers; Candice Arrowood; Makala Bailey; Sandra Baker; Christopher Bowman; Jaime Brooks; Roberto Chacon; Katie Cole; Kristopher Cole; Chelsi Crockett; Brandy Dugger; Kayla Egan; Mattie Gray; Ashlee Harmon; Sarah Denise Hartgrove; Abigail Hathorn; Alexis Hawkins; Gabriel Hobbs; Jessie Hodges; Lily Hollandsworth; Harley Holman; Justin Holmes; Michelle Huddleston; Randy Huerta; Myron Hughes; Whitney Jackson; Leander Keim; Joann Kirk; Sarah Lemons; Emma Grace Lin; Bradley MacLean; Adelaide MacPherson; Janel Manuel; Kayla Miller; Brandon Mooney; Brittney Moore; Sarah Moore; Timisha Ann Mosley; Martin Mozingo; Ronald Mullikin; Kyle Nanney; Lucas Parker; Madeline Kay Parker; DeAndra Sewell; Kristy Smith; Sarah Stapleton; Christina Stewart; Katherine Stout; Jordan Taylor; Kaitlyn Taylor; Paul Taylor; Brooklyn Turner; Savannah Waller; Sydney Warren; Justin Todd Watson-Anderson; Kayla Williams; Savannah Williams; Jeremy Young; and Jay Yu.

New Alpha Iota Chi/PTK members are welcomed to the honor society.
New Alpha Iota Chi/PTK members are welcomed to the honor society.

Northeast State’s Alpha Iota Chi chapter also earned a national Distinguished Chapter Officer Team Award. Only 30 teams across the United States received the award. The honor will be presented at the annual convention in San Antonio, Texas, April 16-18. Recipients will receive commemorative medallions. This is the first time the Northeast State chapter has earned the honor.

Distinguished Chapter Officer Teams are nominated by the chapter advisor through the Hallmark Awards application process, and are chosen based on the team’s demonstration of an exceptional atmosphere of teamwork, leadership abilities, promotion of Honors in Action, other engagement in the Society, and enthusiasm for the Hallmarks of the Society (Scholarship, Leadership, Service and Fellowship). The Alpha Iota Chi Chapter Officer Team winners were selected by a panel of judges from more than 215nominees internationally.

Honeycutt said the chapter flourished this year thanks to the leadership of officers Kelsey Smith, chapter president; Anna Musket, vice president of Scholarship; Emma Bragg, secretary/treasurer; Isabella Smith, vice president of Service; David Barlow, co-vice president of Service, and David Shepherd, vice president of Leadership.

(From left) AIC officers Emma Bragg, David Shepherd, David Barlow, and  Isabella Smith.
(From left) AIC officers Emma Bragg, David Shepherd, David Barlow, and Isabella Smith.

The team organized and carried out two significant projects during the past year designed to mentor incoming college students and middle school students. Alpha Iota Chi has received several state and national awards for individual officers and as a chapter. Alpha Iota Chi won 1st Place for Most Distinguished Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa in the state of Tennessee and 1st Place for Most Distinguished Chapter Officer Team at the PTK Regional Convention in Murfreesboro in March. The chapter also received 1st Place awards including the Most Distinguished College Project and the Honors in Action Project at the convention.

Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, headquartered in Jackson, Miss., is the largest honor society in higher education with 1,285 chapters worldwide. More than 3 million students have been inducted since its founding in 1918, with about 134,000 students inducted annually.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s