Northeast State celebrates year’s best at Honors Convo

Northeast State recognized the year’s distinguished students, staff, and faculty members at the annual Honors Convocation held Tuesday night at the MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport.

The college’s Outstanding Student Award was presented to Nikki Sumner. She holds membership in the College’s Alpha Iota Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the Northeast State Scholars Foundation, and was named a Silver Scholar on the 2014 Coca-Cola Community College Academic Team.  She served as member of the President’s Student Advisory Council, the Council for Leadership, Advocacy, and Student Success, and the Green’s Club. She will graduate summa cum laude in May with a perfection 4.0 grade point average. She plans to transfer to East Tennessee State University this fall.

Nikki Sumner
Nikki Sumner

Samuel Carson Waugh received the Outstanding Alumni Award for 2014. A 2005 graduate of Northeast State Waugh owns Off the Waugh Productions, a client-focused high-definition video production company that provides graphic design, corporate presentations, video services, and web design. He holds a bachelor’s degree from East Tennessee State University. Off the Waugh’s stellar work has been featured in regional and national marketing campaigns.

Carson Waugh
Carson Waugh

The Northeast State Program Area Awards recognized outstanding students in the academic department. Program award winners are:

Advanced Technologies
Chemical Process Operations – Zachary Gilliam; Electrical Technology – Jordan Appiah-Kesse; Electromechanical Technology – Austin Dietrich; General Technology – Jacob Porter; Automotive Service –Alexander Riddle; Engineering Design Technology – Jonathan Ponder; Machine Tool – Derick Cook; Manufacturing – James Parton; Mechanical – Jason Miles; Motor Sports – James Barr; Welding/Metal Fabrication – Jonathon Blackwell.

Behavioral & Social Science Division
Criminal Justice and Criminology – Tyler Chambers; Early Childhood Education – Sommer Bauer; Mass Communications – Katie Parks; Psychology – Caitlin Meadows; Public Safety and Justice Administration – Anna Musket; Social Work – Sherry Boyer; Sociology & Anthropology – Philip Chambers; Speech Communication – Steven Hobbs; Teacher Education – Wilma Barnette; Teacher Education Pre-K-3 – Mary Crowe.

Business Technologies
Accounting – Kimberly Campbell; Management – Allana Jones; Small Business Management – Michaela Slagle; Computer & Information Science/Computer Programming – Samuel Wells; Computer & Information Science/Information Assurance – Mary Johnson; Computer & Information Science/Internet & Web Development – Odette Simons; Computer & Information Science/Network Engineering Technology – Megan Coram; Computer & Information Science/PC Management – James Price; General Technology – Terence Weber; Information Technology – Willie Riddle; Office Administrative Technology/General – Wendy Guinn; Office Administrative Technology/Medical – Jolene Combs; Professional Studies – Michael Grindstaff.

Health-Related Professions Division
Dental Assistant – Renee Powell; EMT-Paramedic – Katrina Ginelli; Medical Laboratory Technology – Amanda Haun; Surgical Technology – Chelsea Daniel; Invasive Cardiology – Jordan Pleasant; Non-Invasive Cardiology – Chelsea Davis.

Humanities Division
Art – Caitlin Meadows; English – Kelly Tolley; History – Haley Money; Honors Program – Kaleb Wentz; Humanities – Matthew T.E. Parker; Philosophy – Matthew A. Parker; Spanish – Jacob Slagle; Theatre – William Lambert.

Mathematics Division
Business – Renee Walden; Engineering – Steven Walker; Mathematics – Katelyn Salyers.

Nursing Division – Stephanie Brown.

Sciences Division
Astronomy – Teresa Duncan; Dental Hygiene – Ashleigh Haun; Health Professions – Sydney Hartley; Nursing/Articulated – Nikki Sumner; Occupational Therapy – Brenda Rankhorn; Physical Therapy – Dustin Neubrander; Physics – Elizabeth Terranova; Radiography – Kasey Johnson.

Northeast State President Dr. Janice Gilliam presented the Distinguished Staff Awards to Northeast State faculty and staff who were nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding service to students and the College.

Mike Collins won the Distinguished Support Staff Member Award. Collins provides information technology support around campus. He is well-known as a consummate professional and one of the most upbeat people on campus.

Pat Chandler received the Distinguished Administrative/Professional Staff Member Award. Chandler’s dedicated service to Northeast State has long made her one of the most beloved people on campus.  She presently works in the Veterans Affairs office advising veterans who have returned to college.

Dr. Brent Lockhart was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Member Award. He is a professor of biology at Northeast State. Lockhart’s numerous nomination letters from students praised his dedication and skill as a professor for helping them succeed in the rigorous science disciplines.

Northeast State also recognized students graduating next month with academic honors. A total of 117 students are graduating cum laude (honors), 80 will graduate magna cum laude (high honors), and 84 students are summa cum laude (highest honors) graduates.

The College’s spring graduation ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. on May 12 at the East Tennessee State University/Mountain States Health Alliance Memorial Center in Johnson City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s