Northeast State pins 2013 class of Nursing graduates

Northeast State Community College recognized its fifth class of Nursing graduates at the 2013 Pinning Ceremony held Tuesday night at the Wellmont Regional Center for the Performing Arts on the main campus in Blountville.

Northeast Nursing grads got their pins Tuesday night.
Northeast Nursing grads got their pins Tuesday night.

The graduating class of students received their nursing pins from the dean of Nursing, Dr. Melessia M. Webb.  In the Dean’s charge to the graduates, Webb expressed her admiration for the graduates’ attitude of “paying it forward” to their classmates and friends.

“The attribute that sticks out about this graduating class is your generosity,” she said. “These students shared books, study materials, and even got together to provide financial support to their fellow students.”

Northeast State Nursing graduates for 2013 are: Crystal Adams, Crystal Arnold, Tammy Beavers, Brian Campbell, Kristina Carter, Cassandra Deloach, Amanda Downing, Debra Evans, Sonia Fields, Heather Ford, Melissa Ford, Brandon Garber, Richard Green, Britny Hall, Jennifer Harrah, Michelle Harris, Haley Hartley, Heather Hayes, Cynthia Haynes, Cristy Heck, Cynthia Hill, Debra Holden, Donald Horvath, Kapui Ip, Melissa Jennings, Jessica Kilgore, Chelsea Kiser, Jessica Lasiter, Lisa Laster, Lyndsey Mason, Melody McKeehan, Rosemary McMahan, Brooks Monroe, Sara Morelock, Edgar Myers, Kina Nash, Lauren Orsburn, Meredith Pardee, Chetna Patel, Kimberly Pierce, Kimberly Plemmons, Tina Quillen, Heather Ramey, Amanda Reece, Julie Richardson, Chessi Riner, Jennifer Roberts, Jeremy Robinette, Casey Seay, Whitney Snyder, Lindsey Stafford, Alisha Taylor, Kayla Thomas, Laura Thomas, Amanda Turner, Christy VanDine, Becky Wahrer, and Kelly West.

The pinning ceremony provided a symbolic welcoming of new nurses into the profession. Each graduating student received the Northeast State Nursing pin on his or her white lab coat signifying completion of the associate of applied science degree program.

Nursing students take the "Nightingale Pledge."
Nursing students take the “Nightingale Pledge.”

Selected to answer the Dean’s charge on behalf of the graduates was Melissa Jennings. She thanked the nursing faculty, her classmates, and all their families for their support during the trying times of nursing school.

“We started out together just wanting to pass and ultimately succeed,” said Jennings. “But we didn’t just want that for ourselves, we wanted it for each and every one of us.”

Debra Evans received the program’s Outstanding Student Award.  Tammy Beavers and Lindsey Stafford were dual winners of the Adult Learner of the Year Award.

The nursing students receive their diplomas on May 14 at the College’s spring commencement ceremony scheduled for 7 p.m. at East Tennessee State University/Mountains State Health Alliance Athletic Center on the campus of ETSU in Johnson City.

“We come to the end of this chapter of our life,” Jennings told her fellow graduates. “But we have a lot more chapters left to write.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s