Northeast State celebrates year’s best at Honors Convocation

Northeast State recognized the year’s distinguished students, staff, and faculty members at the annual Honors Convocation held Thursday night at the MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport.

The college’s Outstanding Student Award was presented to Elizabeth Ross. She holds membership in the College’s Alpha Iota Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, the Northeast State Scholars Foundation,  and the President’s All-Academic Team.  She holds a 4.0 grade point average.  Ross also won the Adult Learner of the Year Award given to a non-traditional student with high achievement after returning to college.  She will graduate summa cum laude in May with an associate of science degree in Speech Communication.

Beth Ross
Beth Ross

Northeast State alumnus Dr. David Long, ’92, received the Outstanding Alumni Award for 2013.  Long serves as assistant director of the Auckland Bioengineering Institute and Department of Engineering Science at the University of Auckland in New Zealand.

Prior to the Convocation, the College held a reception for the President’s All-Academic Team.   The team is composed of students who are graduating with a 4.0 grade point average.

The Northeast State Program Area Awards recognized outstanding students in the academic department. Program award winners are:

Advanced Technologies

Chemical Process Operations – Benjamin Sanders; Electrical Technology – James May; Electromechanical Technology – Michael Clay; General Technology – Todd Rust; Automotive Service – James Dollard; Auto Body Service Technology – Alan Daniel; Heating, Ventilation, and Air Conditioning – Justin Brickey; Industrial Drafting Design – Jordan Pate; Machine Tool – Steven Hensley; Manufacturing – James Foster; Mechanical – Marshall Haney; Motor Sports – Alexander Arnold; Welding/Metal Fabrication – Michael Johnson.

 Behavioral & Social Science Division

Criminal Justice and Criminology – Justin Sparks; Early Childhood Education – Jamie Trivett; Mass Communications – Michael Wells; Psychology – Hannah Todaro; Public Safety and Justice Administration – Robert Conley;  Social Work – Rebecca Lecka; Sociology & Anthropology – Jasmine Potter; Speech Communication – Josh Shearer; Teacher Education – Mallory Grey; Teacher Education Pre-K-3 – Cory Parker.

 Business Technologies

Accounting – Kristen  Dempsey; Management – Michael Devereaux; Small Business Management – Billy Harrah Jr.; Computer & Information Science/Computer Networking Systems – Patricia Coonley;; Computer & Information Science/Computer Programming – Joshua Blevins;  Computer & Information Science/Internet and Web Development – Jonathan Hinkle;  Computer & Information Science/ PC Management – Jimmy Absher; Computer & Information Science / Information Technology – William Bailey; Office Administrative Technology/General – Laurie Anspaugh; Office Administrative Technology/Legal – Michelle Sprouse; Office Administrative Technology/Medical – Sandra Baker.

 Health-Related Professions Division

Dental Assistant – Jordan Dyer; EMT-Paramedic – Megan Archer; Medical Laboratory Technology – Steven Wagner; Surgical Technology – Kelli Turnmire; Invasive Cardiology – Angela Baker; Non-Invasive Cardiology – Erin Cassel.

 Humanities Division

Art – Tommy Laws, Jr.; English – Andrew Christian; History – Amanda Broome; Spanish – Jessi Stevens; Honors Program – Alicia Jennings.

Mathematics Division

Business – Diane Campbell; Engineering – Christopher Martinez; Mathematics – James Wagner.

Nursing Division – Debra Evans.

 Sciences Division

Astronomy – Kimberly Campbell; Biology – Brandie Newman; Chemistry – Stanley Pierce; Dental Hygiene – Rachel Hygiene; Health Professions – Jocelyn Spenillo; Nursing/Articulated – Angelica Bridges; Physical Therapy – Daniel Neubrander; Physics – Laura Wemple; Radiography – Ian Wolf.

President Janice Gilliam and the Outstanding Student Award finalists.
President Janice Gilliam and the Outstanding Student Award finalists.

Northeast State President Dr. Janice Gilliam presented the Distinguished Staff Awards to Northeast State faculty and staff who were nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding service to students and the College.

David Lewis won the Distinguished Support Staff Member Award.  Lewis provides support services around campus and takes on the challenging job of lab assistant with the Sciences Department.

Sandra Gardner received the Distinguished Administrative/Professional Staff Member Award.  She is an academic advisor with the Student Success Center providing guidance and learning resources for students.

Jim Kelly was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Member Award. He is an associate professor of history and humanities at Northeast State. Kelly also chairs the College’s Cultural Activities Committee that brings educational and entertaining speakers to campus each year.

Northeast State also recognized students graduating next month with academic honors. A total of 129 students are graduating cum laude (honors), 65 will graduate magna cum laude (high honors), and 72 students are summa cum laude (highest honors) graduates.

The College’s spring graduation ceremony will be held at 7 p.m. on May 14 at the East Tennessee State University/Mountain States Health Alliance Memorial Center in Johnson City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s