Zombie class with Brendan Riley on Oct. 25

A foremost authority on the psychology of zombie culture visits Northeast State on Oct. 25 to deliver two lectures at 10:30 a.m. and 1:30 p.m.

Dr. Brendan Riley gets in character.

Dr. Brendan Riley’s lecture, “Zombies and Popular Culture,” explores how zombies help us think more deeply about the human condition and why hordes of walking dead have become so popular with modern society.  Both lectures are being held at the Wellmont Regional Center for the Performing Arts Theater on the Blountville campus, adjacent to Tri-Cities Regional Airport.

Brendan Riley is an Associate Professor of English at Columbia College Chicago, a liberal arts school for the performing and media arts.  Riley may be best known around campus for his popular J-session class, “Zombies in Popular Media,” which has been featured in The Chronicle of Higher Education, the Chicago RedEye, and CNN Online, among many other places.

When not examining the undead’s role in the modern world, he teaches Composition, New Media, and Media Studies classes, and he also serves as coordinator for the College English Department’s Technology and Pedagogy programs. He has been published on a wide variety of subjects. Among his recent published essays are: Zombie People: The Complicated Nature of Personhood in The Walking Dead and The E-Dead: Zombies in the Digital Age.

His lecture is free and open to the public.  For more information contact 423.279.7669 or jpkelly@NortheastState.edu.

Workforce Solutions features two live performance workshops

Two workshops teaching the details of live performances for sound and lighting design will be offered in November through Workforce Solutions at Northeast State.

The first workshop, Live Sound – Stage Setup & Mixing and Effects, will meet Nov. 6 & Nov. 13, 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

The first workshop session focuses on stage setup including microphones, cables, monitors, and basic acoustics. Students will learn how to design and implement stage sound schemes for individual speakers, solo musicians, vocalists, and small bands.

Lighting and sound

The second session details live audio setup from the sound booth using mixing boards, analog and digital concepts, effects, and audio signal routing.  Students will learn how to mix multiple sounds, trace a sound signal from board input to output speakers, and run a live show.

The second workshop, Artistic Approach and the Technical Approach to Lighting Design, meets Nov. 7 & 14, 6 p.m. to 9 p.m.

The first class focuses on how designers and technicians see light.  Participants will learn the details of color selection and how to plan for angles based on research.

The second class will build upon the skills learned in the previous class, with in-depth technical breakdown of common types of stage lighting instruments.  The class includes an overview of the physics of photometrics as well as instrument hanging safety and light board operation.

Both courses are being taught at the Wellmont Regional Center for the Performing Arts on the main campus at Blountville. Apply online now at www.NortheastState.edu and clicking on the “Workforce Solutions” link.

Each course fee is $125 per person and includes all workshop materials.  For more information contact 423.354.2570 or cmtauscher@NortheastState.edu.

Debate Team wins big at tourney

Do not argue with the Northeast State Debate Team.

The College’s Debate Team began their fall break by competing in the 2012 Smoky Mountain Parliamentary Debate Tournament held at Walters State Community College on Oct. 13.  They walked away with several awards including the 1st place Team Award for the tournament.

“I am extremely pleased with the effort of all the students and, of course, the results; I look forward to further competition,” said Dr. Rick Merritt, assistant professor of Speech and Debate Team coach.

Rocky Graybeal and Anne Rowell took the 1st Place Team Award in the Smoky Mountain Parliamentary Debate Tournament.

Northeast State competed with 16 teams and 28 fellow debaters.  The Northeast State Debate Team of Britny Fox, Nicole Neilson, Jose Martin, Anne Rowell, and Rocky Graybeal represented the College. Debaters came from community colleges, four-year public and four-year private institutions from three states.

The event was held using the Parliamentary debate format modeled after the Parliamentary debates in England.  In this format teams receive the topic 20 minutes before the start of the round.

The debaters argued topics such as the right to regulate soda size, creating a UN standing army, and the size of government.  The tournament featured three preliminary rounds to determine who would participate in the semifinals.

Fox and Neilson earned a victory against an East Tennessee State University team with Neilson being named the 2nd Place Speaker out of the four in the round.  Martin teamed with Henry Mendoza a member of the Walters State team to form a hybrid team.  This is commonly done to give debaters an opportunity to participate.  Martin and Mendoza bested a team from Middle Tennessee State University with Martin being named the 2nd Place Speaker in the round.

The team of Rowell and Graybeal earned victories in each of their three preliminary rounds defeating teams from ETSU, MTSU, Tennessee State University, and Berea College.  Rowell nabbed two first-place speaker ratings in the first and second round.  Because of her strong showing in the first two rounds, Rowell garnered the 2nd Place Speaker Award for the entire tournament.

Rowell and Graybeal won their semifinal round against a Berea College to face off with team from Walters State in the final. The topic was about sacrificing economic growth for the sake of the environment.  In the round there were four judges and the audience was given a potential tie-breaking vote.  After the round the judges made their decision and the audience was brought back into the room.  A show of hands indicated the audience supported the Northeast State team’s position. This tie-breaking vote gave Rowell and Graybeal 1st Place Team honors for the tournament.

October blood drive best ever

The Oct. 9 blood drive held at Northeast State marked a record day of giving by donors.   Northeast State had 121 people register to give blood with 91 good units being collected at the main campus. The Northeast State at Kingsport site registered 34 and collected 24 good units.

Student Club winners for recruiting the most donors for the drive are:

First Place – TRIO Club ($100 to their club fund)

Second Place – Art Club ($75 to their club fund)

Third Place – PTK Club ($50 to their club fund)

Currently we are in first place in the competition to be the college that collects the most units, but all 3 colleges have one more drive! So, mark your calendar for Dec. 5 to give again. How awesome to give your gift of life during the Christmas season.

If you are unable to give on the dates the blood mobile comes to campus, you may go to the most convenient Marsh Regional Blood Collection Center and donate, asking them to credit it to Northeast State. Marsh Regional Blood Center operates three collection centers where you can give your gift of life.