Honors Convocation celebrates Northeast State’s best

Northeast State recognized distinguished students, staff, and faculty members of 2010-2011 at the annual Honors Convocation held last night at the MeadowView Conference Resort and Convention Center in Kingsport.

The college’s Outstanding Student Award of 2010 was presented to Lee Boyd II.  A Bristol resident and graduate of Sullivan East High School, Boyd maintains a 4.0 grade point average while enrolled at Northeast State.  His accomplishments include being named an All-Tennessee Community College Academic Team Scholar, a member of the College’s Alpha Iota Chi chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa Honor Society, and Who’s Who Among Students in American Junior Colleges for 2010-2011. He graduates summa cum laude in May with his associate of applied science degree in Speech Communication.

The Honors Convocation recognized dozens of students for their outstanding work at Northeast State.

The Program Area Awards recognized outstanding students in the academic department. Program award winners are:

Behavioral & Social Science Division

Criminal Justice and Criminology – Jhonnie Willis; Early Childhood Education – Christine Bright; Mass Communications – Anthony Frazier; Psychology – Robert Dean; Public Safety and Justice Administration – Allison Wallace; Social Work –  Kayla Hughes; Sociology & Anthropology – Courtney Rankin;  Speech Communication – David Fields; Teacher Education – Heather Graves.

Health-Related Professions Division

Dental Assistant – Carole Bowker; EMT-Paramedic – Brett Brixey; Medical Laboratory Technology – Necole Abadie; Surgical Technology – Kayla McPeek; Invasive Cardiology – Lori Campbell;  Non-Invasive Cardiology – Wesley Garland.  Nursing – Seth McLaughlin.

Humanities Division

Art – Leslie Arnold;  English – Jessica Hall; History and Spanish – Brittany Boone;  Honors Program – Whitney Thomas; Humanities – Darby Curtis; Philosophy – Derek Hinkle; Spanish – Lauren Moser; Theatre – Megan Wheelock.

Mathematics Division

Business – Stephanie Glowicki; Engineering – Eric McMurray; Mathematics –Joshua Moser.

Sciences Division

Astronomy – Travis Eggers; Chemistry – Dawn Bailey;  Health Professions – Sherry Morrell; Nursing/Articulated – Alicia Ronquillo; Physical Therapy – Ethan Pearcy; Physics – Joshua Moser;  Radiography – Randall Black.

Technical Education Division

Accounting – Tammy Salyers; Management – Robert Thomas;  Small Business Management – Erin Bradley-Weatherford;  Chemical Process Operations – Stephanie Williams;  Computer & Information Science/Computer Networking – James Odom;  Computer & Information Science/Computer Programming – Alex Quijano; Computer & Information Science/Internet and Web Development – Jeffrey Stout; Computer & Information Science/ PC Management – James Price;  Electrical Technology – Ernest Butte, Jr.; Electromechanical Technology – Margaret Morrell; General Technology – Timothy Horne;  Industrial Technology/Automotive Service – Michael Lynch;  Machine Tool – Sean Stewart;  Manufacturing – Stephen Saults;  Mechanical – William Westmoreland; Welding/Metal Fabrication – Dakota Sluder; Office Administrative Technology/Medical – Robin Matthews.

More than 270 students will be graduating with academic honors.

Northeast State President Dr. Janice Gilliam presented the awards to Northeast State faculty and staff who were nominated by their colleagues for their outstanding service to students and the College.

Associate Professor of Cardiovascular Technology, Connie Marshall, was honored with the Distinguished Faculty Member Award. Marshall also serves as program director of the Cardiovascular Technology Department.  Assistant Vice President of Evening and Distance Education, Dr. Chris Lefler, received the Distinguished Administrative/Professional Staff Member Award.  Brenda Denton received the Distinguished Support Staff Member Award.  Denton retired earlier this year after 31 years of service to the College.

Northeast State also recognized students who will be graduating with honors for their academic excellence.  A total of 123 students are graduating cum laude (honors), 67 will graduate magna cum laude (high honors), and 82 students will be summa cum laude (highest honors) graduates.

The College’s spring commencement will be held at 7 p.m. on May 10 at the ETSU – MSHA Memorial Center in Johnson City.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s