Northeast State hosts Information Fair at KCHE March 28

Northeast State invites the public to learn more about returning to college at an Information Fair scheduled March 28 from 6:00 p.m. to 7:00 p.m. at the Kingsport Center for Higher Education, 300 W. Market Street, downtown Kingsport. The College’s Office of Enrollment Services hosts this free informative session for adults as well as younger students seeking a college degree or certificate.


Northeast State representatives from the offices of Admissions, Financial Aid, Scholarships and Veterans’ Affairs will be on hand to answer questions. Fair attendees can meet with staff and learn more about the College and Tennessee Reconnect.

For more information about this event, contact Northeast State Enrollment Services at 423.323.0229 or

Alpha Iota Chi Chapter earns REACH Reward

Northeast State’s Phi Theta Kappa chapter recently earned special recognition for achieving a 17 percent membership acceptance rate in 2016.

The honor, known as a REACH Reward, recognizes chapters that excel in membership development with at least a 15 percent acceptance rate. The College’s Alpha Iota Chi Chapter will receive eight Phi Theta Kappa graduation stoles for use during spring commencement.

REACH is short for Recognizing Excellence in Acceptance and Completion with Honors.

“We couldn’t be more proud of these chapters and their impressive recruitment efforts,” said Dr. Lynn Tincher-Ladner, PTK President and CEO. “They have set a true example for their peers, and their achievements and leadership will guide us well as we look toward the next 100 years.”

More than 400 Phi Theta Kappa chapters met or exceeded a 15 percent membership acceptance rate in 2016.  The hard work of these chapters led to an overall acceptance rate of 13.2 percent – the highest in the Society’s history.

To find the acceptance rate of each chapter, PTK divided the number of students accepting membership by the number of students eligible for membership during 2016. Also, the acceptance rate is weighted based on each individual college’s enrollment.

To further the recognition, advisors, and members of these chapters will also receive REACH Chapter Ribbons upon arrival at PTK Catalyst set April 6-8, 2017 in Nashville, Tenn.

For more information about the Northeast State chapter, contact Jane Honeycutt at 423.354 /2596 or


Northeast State hosts the Scholars Attic Sale April 6-7

Get the goods and do some good for college students at the upcoming Scholars Attic Sale sponsored by the Northeast State Community College Scholars Foundation.  All proceeds from the sale benefit Northeast State Foundation Scholarships awarded to students and the Student Needs Project.

The Scholars Attic Sale is scheduled Thursday, April 6, from 9 a.m. until 6 p.m. and Friday, April 7, from 9 a.m. until 2:30 p.m. The sale is being held in the Faculty/Staff Dining Room, A110 of the Student Services Building on the College’s Blountville campus, next to Tri-Cities Regional Airport. The sale is open to the public.

Help fund Foundation Scholarships and the Student Needs Project.

Shoppers browse a variety of items including adult and children’s clothing, household goods, small appliances, furniture, books, DVDs, and toys.  All purchases must be made by either cash or check.  Items must be picked up and removed from campus at the time of sale.

Northeast State Foundation Scholarships are competitive scholarship awards based primarily on academic merit with consideration given to a student’s major, county of residence, and leadership skills among other selection criteria. The Student Needs Project provides help for students facing non-academic and socioeconomic factors that impact their lives and ability to attend college. The Project directs campus initiatives focusing on food security, resource development, emergency funds, and transportation.

For more information about the sale, contact the College’s Office of Scholarship Programs and Student Needs at 423.279.7637 or

The Billies play Northeast State March 29

The Billies are back and better than ever. Northeast State welcomes the duo back to campus this month for a concert and two songwriting workshops open to students.

The Billies are lead vocalist Chrisie Santoni, who also plays guitar and keyboards, and Craig Smith on percussion and vocals. The duo performs a full concert – free and open to the public – on March 29 in the Northeast State Auditorium (A202) on the Blountville campus, 2425 Highway 75. The show will feature the performance of a song written by Northeast State students during two songwriting workshops held prior to the show.

The Billies play Northeast State March 29.

The workshops are scheduled March 27 and 29. Prospective singers and songwriters get an opportunity to learn about creative songwriting and musical expression.

The duo coined a unique style they call Low Country Groove. Their sound mixes folk, Americana, country, pop, rock and a little dash of chill. The duo has played hundreds upon hundreds of shows in coffeehouses, farmers markets, restaurants, and college campuses.

The duo hosts two songwriting workshops March 27 & 29.

Santoni is an award-winning songwriter, having taken 1st Place in The Unisong Songwriting Contest and 1st Runner-Up Adult Contemporary in The John Lennon Songwriting Contest, both for her song Mona Lisa.

Doors open for the concert at 6:30 p.m.  For information about the workshops or concert, visit The Billies’ Facebook page or e-mail


NE State named top blood drive sponsor for 4th straight year

Northeast State Community College was named top blood drive sponsor among area colleges and universities recently at the Marsh Regional Blood Center’s annual awards luncheon.

In 2016, the College collected 452 units in drives on the College’s various campuses. This is the fourth year in a row the College has ranked number one in donations.

Other top community colleges for 2016 included Southwest Virginia Community College with 213 units and Mountain Empire Community College with 212.

70th Marsh RegionalMarsh also sponsors the Hero Cord Award to encourage blood donations from high school and college students.

Northeast State students who will graduate this spring and have accumulated four donations/or replacement donations are eligible to receive cords. The Red Hero Cords may be worn during commencement to recognize the student’s commitment to saving lives. These cords are provided to the college at no cost.

For more information about the Hero Cords, contact Kim Rapcan, director of Health Services at 423.323.0212 or For more information about the College’s Health Services visit

Marsh Regional Blood Center has been the largest hometown supplier of blood and blood products in Northeast Tennessee and Southwest Virginia for 70 years.

Through generous support from the community, Marsh Regional has grown steadily and conducts more than 700 drives annually.